The Eight Tracks of CCIE Certification

The CCIE certification by Cisco is a highly reputable and renowned credential for those working in the information technology and networking sector. The CCIE certification program supervised by Cisco undergoes timely updates and all the principles, methods and course is regularly revised to make sure that the program delivers unmatched quality, advantages, and value. Via written tests and practical exams, Cisco maintain the CCIE certification program at the highest level of certification in the internet networking industry.

Cisco launched the CCIE certification program in year 1933 to help the networking industry in identifying potential experts in the field of internet technical networking. At present, among the Cisco certified experts, about three percent of the experts are CCIE certified.

Tracks/domains/ areas of specialization offered by Cisco for CCIE


There are 8 domains, tracks or areas of specialization, which a candidate can select for taking the CCIE certification exam

1.      Data center

This track requires knowledge and skills to implement and troubleshoot technologies related to data center. An individual must have sufficient skills to operate and manage systems, network services, security systems and visualizations plus thorough comprehension of network infrastructure’s layers two and three.

2.      Routing and switching

This track demands adequate understanding of WAN and LAN interfaces and knowledge about other switches and routers. Individuals who want to take CCIE certification in this track must be able to provide solutions of various connectivity issues to enhance response times, bandwidth and increase the level of performance.

3.      Security

Candidates must demonstrate knowledge about VPN and security solutions, windows, Linux, HTTP, FTP, DNS, and UNIX. A candidate should be able to configure technical end to end networks, and troubleshoot integrated environments.

4.      Service provider

It requires knowledge about IP basics, development of service provider infrastructure, MPLs, fundamental security, VPNs and packet architecture.

5.      Service provider operations

It requires understanding to troubleshoot technical service provider, IP NGN network infrastructures in IOS & IOS XR OS.

6.      Storage networking

This domain demands skills to troubleshoot and implement storage area networks plus a thorough understanding about LANs, WANs, MANs, FCIP, and FICON. Understanding about layer two and three of network infrastructure is also required

7.      Voice track

This track demands expertise in Cisco VoIP appliances and solutions, configuring and establishing telephony network, and providing solutions and troubleshooting of VoIP issues. Knowledge of infrastructure network layer two and three is required too.

8.      Wireless track

This area verifies a candidate’s skills and knowledge about major concepts of WLAN.

Click Here To Get All Actual Cisco CCIE Exam Questions
Bottom Image